PDA

View Full Version : New reef setup: will this do without problems?

cacopepo
12/10/2012, 04:52 PM
ive been buying stuff for the past 3 months or so to build a reef tank..just want to know if what i have, and the equipment brand i have will be good enough to start. So heres the list:
1. 46 gallon bowfront
2. cpr Bak-Pak 2R+ HOB protein skimmer
3. cpr HOB refugium (small)
4. marineland canister filter c220
5. 100 watt heater (unknown brand)
6. hydor koralia 750gph
7.Maristar Metal halide 2x250 + 2x39 ati super actinic
8. 30 lbs of aragonite sand
9. 35 lbs of base rock
10. 20 to 35 lbs of live fiji rock

I know the halides are a bit extreme, but i just couldnt pass the opportunity on the price, brand new never been used $240. I will have them 12 inches above the tank if it starts heating the tank maybe a clip on fan With the refugium i would like chateo to keep amonia and nitrates down and to grow copepods( i really want a mandarin) if size is an issue i will upgrade to a large one..lights will be opposite of tank..having them on at night. The canister is just there to clear the water from debri or anything else, might only have it on a few days a week...once my cycle is done, start adding corals, and hopefully within a year want to add these fish: black and orange oscellaris clowns,mandarin goby, yellow watchman goby, royal gramma and a flame angel (i know they nips at corals and the minority dont if you keep them well fed, but its a chance im willing to take)

any advice, opinions, or 2 cents are very appreciated thanks :wave:

cacopepo
12/10/2012, 07:14 PM
anyone??????????

ReachTheSky
12/10/2012, 07:23 PM
So far so good. There are a few pieces of advice I'd like to give though:

1 - No name brand heater? I wouldn't trust that. I've heard far too many stories of thermostats getting stuck and people walking home to 95 degree tanks with lots of dead animals.

2 - You will need more than just that one Koralia for flow. I would recommend a second placed adjacently.