PDA

View Full Version : Water Report for my town, give me opinions

mkjohnson1990
12/14/2012, 09:25 AM
Hey everyone, so obviously I'm a noob if I'm asking for your opinions, but I got a water report for my town (College Station, TX) so let me know how beast I should make sure my RO/DI system is before I purchase it. I know from tasting the water that it has a lot of S*** in it lol. The lady told me that even though this is from 2011, the report for 2012 isnt released until May of 2013, and since it is groundwater, the contaminates don't change at all, if any from year to year. Anyway, here it is in PDF form:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/32075884/2011%20Water%20Quality%20Report%20052412.pdf

downbeach
12/14/2012, 10:52 AM
I couldn't open the file.

mos90
12/14/2012, 11:23 AM
tds at 500 and ph at 8.5 is high. will eat up some di resin. at 385 ppm total alk water is very hard. not sure if it will cause any issues. i dont see them using chloramine so thats good.

i would go with a good 6 stage system . he is an example

http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/brs-6-stage-deluxe-ro-di-system-75gpd.html

mkjohnson1990
12/14/2012, 11:34 AM
Yes I knew the water was very hard because I have had issues keeping the water from clouding in my freshwater tanks. I really cant wait to get RO/DI water in my freshwater and see how well it helps my fish/tank.

mos90
12/14/2012, 12:06 PM
an ro/di unit will not help to soften water. you could run a softening stage but your water is still to hard for that. you will need to run a separate water softener.

disc1
12/14/2012, 12:38 PM
an ro/di unit will not help to soften water. you could run a softening stage but your water is still to hard for that. you will need to run a separate water softener.

RO/DI will get you down to pure 0 TDS water. I don't know how you would make it any softer.

Installing a softener before the ro unit will likely help the filters to last a bit longer. But it isn't necessary to get pure water out of it.