PDA

View Full Version : YAY!!! Phosphates!!?!?

jamesbaur13
12/21/2012, 09:44 PM
I'm relatively new to the hobby (1.5yrs) and I wanted to share a mistake I made.

I thought "0" Phosphate was a good thing... as I have learned, it isn't.

You want Phosphates to read .03 or slightly under.

Phosphates help bacterial and algal growth, without some phosphates this growth is stunted/starved.

As many of you all know, symbiotic algae exists in many of the organisms we want to keep. Without Phosphate this symbiotic algae suffers and as a result your corals suffer as well.

In addition, de-nitrifying bacteria also suffer. Can't get nitrates to lower? Try testing your phosphate, if it's "0" shut off your GFO.

I just figured I should post this just so others don't make the same mistake.

Thanks.

hollister
12/21/2012, 09:59 PM
Well as long as you feed them as if they are coral and fish. Some phyto planket a few times a month and then the waste from fish and bits of food they get. They are like the CUC.

This is why a few fish in a coral tank is good. Staying below allowed amount and never overstock.

Also overskimming can be bad as with excessive water changes.

Ita all about balance.

And keeping your phosphates high only invites un wanted algea. Phosphates main source would be the water used and or overstocking and overfeeding or under maintaining.

I know its hard to hear and im sure im wrong but the basics never fail me.

jamesbaur13
12/21/2012, 10:31 PM
You totally missed my point.

You want .03 or slightly less.

My mistake was trying to remove something blindly (I wasn't testing for it regularly) that is beneficial to the health of any/all reefs. If in excess, yes it leads to algae. I'm not talking about excess though, I'm talking about maintaining it at a targeted level.

hollister
12/21/2012, 10:54 PM
Phosphates are unwanted.

jamesbaur13
12/22/2012, 01:36 AM
Phosphates are unwanted.

They are needed.