PDA

View Full Version : Keeping Large Angels

shawpanther23
12/23/2012, 04:45 AM
I am interested in keeping large angelfish in a 245 gal fowlr community tank .I have 18 years experience in saltwater so this is nothing new for me,but I have always had smaller setups with your typical clowns,tangs,Pygmy angels and so on. Now, what Large angelfish would be a good choice for a community setup and also would it be possible to keep multiple angels ?

SDguy
12/23/2012, 08:18 AM
Depending on the dimensions of the tank and what else you want in there... I like Chaetodontoplus and Apolemichthys species angels. Also rock beauty, regal, and majestic angels don't get huge and mean. I tend to stay away from the really big angels like koran, queen, emp unless I have a massive tank.

Mrscribbled
12/23/2012, 10:22 AM
Depending on the dimensions of the tank and what else you want in there... I like Chaetodontoplus and Apolemichthys species angels. Also rock beauty, regal, and majestic angels don't get huge and mean. I tend to stay away from the really big angels like koran, queen, emp unless I have a massive tank.

I agree although I woukd shy away from rock beauty. Juveniles feed off other fish slime coat and adults require large quantities of sponge and are tough to acclimate. If your looking for some prized fish look into, scribbled, personifers, conspiculus, goldflake.

humaguy
12/23/2012, 10:30 AM
Interruptus would be nice...Navarchus too...good luck!

shawpanther23
12/23/2012, 12:17 PM
tank demensions are 30 wide 72 long 26 deep

Mrscribbled
12/23/2012, 01:32 PM
tank demensions are 30 wide 72 long 26 deep

6 feet isn't a whole lot of length. But I've found its easier to keep multiple angles together verses just two and is much easier than keeping multiple tangs together . As long as emperor, queens, passer, french, are not in the mix. A blue line Would do well in your tank also.

humaguy
12/23/2012, 06:05 PM
still say a Navarchus...Interruptus...
A Joc would be nice...