PDA

View Full Version : Dosing Alarm


Kroghs
12/28/2012, 04:57 PM
New with my Apex system and learning curve has been tough. Wondering if anyone can help? I have programmed an outlet to run my doser from 3:00pm-3:06 to dose 6 mls. of NO3:PO4X, here is the program, Fallback OFF
OSC 900:00/006:00/534:00 Then ON. The program seems correct.

Checked it this morning and the bottle was empty and the bottle was a full a couple days ago. No damage noticed yet. Here are my questions:


I had the bottle of NO3:POX4 above the doser so I thought that gravity and siphon effect my have emptied the bottle, but after looking at the doser, . "BRS 2 Part Doser 1.1 mL per minute" that seem unlikely with the 2 rollers.

It seems the outlet simply did not turn off correctly. When I tested the outlet, I manually turned it on, then off and it kept running. I re-booted the system and it appeared to be working correctly. Checked it again and again it did not turn off. This time I unplugged the doser and plugged it back in, worked fine for a few tests, now I have to unplug it again. Is this a defective outlet? Is there something else I can do? Am I doing anything wrong?

Can I add an email alert waring if there is a problem and if so, I don't have clue how to program such an alarm. I have set-up and tested email alerts and they are working. Thank you, Bob

RussM
12/28/2012, 05:13 PM
What outlet? Is it in a EB8? That dosing pump MUST be plugged into outlet 4 or 8 for reliable operation if its an EB8.

Search the reference manual for "TRIAC" for an explanation of why.

Kroghs
12/28/2012, 05:47 PM
That is what I thought, I have it plugged into outlet #7. I have a Hydor Powerhead currently plugged into outlet #8. Here is its program,

Fallback ON
If Time 00:00 to 06:00 Then OFF
If Time 06:00 to 12:00 Then ON
If Time 12:00 to 18:00 Then OFF
If Time 18:00 to 00:00 Then ON

Will it operate correctly on outlet #7? Can I swap the two?
Thanks for your help. Bob

Kroghs
12/28/2012, 05:58 PM
That is what I thought, I have it plugged into outlet #7. I have a Hydor Powerhead currently plugged into outlet #8. Here is its program,

Fallback ON
If Time 00:00 to 06:00 Then OFF
If Time 06:00 to 12:00 Then ON
If Time 12:00 to 18:00 Then OFF
If Time 18:00 to 00:00 Then ON

Will it operate correctly on outlet #7? Can I swap the two?
Thanks for your help. Bob

Kroghs
12/28/2012, 06:12 PM
Sorry about the double post, new to forums too!

sminker
12/28/2012, 08:03 PM
How many powerheads do you have? You can put multiple items on one outlet with an extension cord. You need to have the Doser on 4 or 8 like Russ said. You will have to switch the powerhead and Doser.

You will have to reprogram each outlet. Explain how you want it and we can help with programming.

Kroghs
12/28/2012, 09:11 PM
I've already made the switch & have four powerheads. I would like them to turn on & off randomly on a 24 hour cycle. If you could send me one program for one powerhead, I could figure out how to edit the program so they all cycle at different times. Also should I keep dosing the 6 mls per day or hold off for a while, any thoughts? Thank you very much!

sminker
12/28/2012, 09:21 PM
Fallback ON
Set ON
If time 06:00 to 12:00 Then OFF

If you have the Set ON on the outlet, it will always be running so you just need to tell it when to turn off.

Kroghs
12/28/2012, 09:41 PM
Can you show me an example where it shuts off more often, maybe 4 or 5 times per and after midnight? This programming is so new to me it will take a while for me to get it. After midnight has to be in military times? For example
If time 01:00 to 03:00 Then OFF, will that shut of the outlet from 1-3 am?

RussM
12/28/2012, 10:16 PM
Can you show me an example where it shuts off more oftenJust use multiple If Time statements.