PDA

View Full Version : Parameters, new to testing reef

justinf67
01/03/2013, 10:11 PM
I have battled nitrates and with vodka dosing over the last 2 months, I have brought my nitrates down to 0. I received the Red Sea Pro Reef test kit for xmas, which has Mag, Calcium and Alk. I tried them out today.

Results were:
Nitrate: 0 (API)
Alk 10 (Both API and Red Sea)
Calcium: 300 (Red Sea)
Mag: 900 (Red Sea)

The Mag reading seems like it is WAY too low. I know it should be up at 12-1300 and my calcium should be 400-450. It has been 3 weeks since my last water change on my 75g with 40g sump. I usually change 30-34g every two weeks. Ran out of IO salt, ordered 200g box which is arriving next week.

I am a complete newb on what I need to do to bring my levels up to where they should be. Only corals in the tank are clove/star polyps, zoa frag and a Torch coral with 3 heads. I assume to torch is using up the calcium.

I know I need to dose things to get my levels up and I can add Kalk to my ato at a rate of 1tsp per gallon to maintain during the week. Is this the best way to do so? Or is it just because I havnt done a WC in 3 weeks. What do I need to bring my levels up to where they should be? Thanks for the help!

Steve Wright2
01/03/2013, 10:39 PM
Hi Justinf67

as you stated that Mag and Calcium level seems very low
aside from the Torch, what other corals/ clams etc are you keeping

the reason I ask, is that many a step has been taken in reaction to a flawed test result
either a kit problem, or occasionally user error due unfamiliarity with a new test kit

I would get the results verfied/ confirmed, before taking any drastic action

if the results are confirmed, then a Magnessium and Calcium supplement can be used to increase the levels back to within normal reef parameters

380 - 440 ish for Calcium
1280 - 1350 ish for Magnesium