PDA

View Full Version : Why Do They Keep Dying

mossyfish
01/09/2013, 11:14 AM
Hello All,

I'm new to Reef Central and new to the saltwater hobby, so this is my first post. About 6 weeks ago I set my system up, I have a 30g with a 20g wet/dry sump, I have 50lb of LS and about 30lb of LR. About 2 weeks ago, I introduced some mushrooms to my tank and within a week they sailed off to mushroom heaven:( The LPS said the levels in the tank are good and they don't know why they died. So... I though maybe I needed to let my system run a little longer... and just yesterday I got a couple more mushrooms and some zoanthids... and like before they are looking as though they aren't going to make it. The zoanthid have closed up and haven't reopened yet (which they did in the bag when I was floating they to get the temp acclimated) and they mushroom is all shriveled, the edges are looking frayed and the color is pretty much gone. I'm very anal about making sure my levels are good, which they are all right where they should be. Also, I forgot to mention I have a diatoms bloom happening right now, I'm doing water changes to help get rid of them.

So can anyone HELP!?!?! Everything I've ever read about mushroom and zoanthid corals are that they are very hardy and very hard to kill. Well... I'm on my second batch and looking like I've managed to kill them both!!:(

Thanks!

Nano sapiens
01/09/2013, 12:38 PM
You'll need to post your parameters (Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate, pH, temp)

I like to wait at least a few months before adding any corals to make sure the new system has cycled and stabilized.

potterjon
01/09/2013, 01:02 PM
^+1 on parameters. Are you testing them yourself or relying on them to test it?
Do you have any fish in there? Your tank is pretty young for corals in general. Sounds like a very sterile environment for them especially without any fish.

mossyfish
01/09/2013, 01:57 PM