PDA

View Full Version : Hypo no good, going Cupramine!

Painted skin
01/15/2013, 01:33 PM
I have 150 gal FOWLR stocked with mostly large breed angel and 1 Australian Harlequin Tusk. I just recently went through Hypo 1.008 SG, eveything was looking good except I was starting to get fungus near the end of treatment and been told it was due to hypo. So I had QT the fish and treat for fungus.
It's obvious I didn't catch all the ich.. :mad2:

So now instead of going through all that trouble I'm going to use copper and go fish less. That leads me to a few questions as I've never used Cupramine before..

What is the safe level of Cupramine to use on large angels?

Will the med make the fish loose their appetite?

How long should treatment with Cupramine take to eradicate ich so I can stop treating and leave the fish in QT and leave the DT fish less planning on 8wks fish less?

Actually I can't say for sure whether the hypo didn't work, because come to think of it I did add a bunch of live sand from some one I know I did rinse the sand with fresh water, but that doesn't mean anything. So instead of taking the chance that it was hypo that didn't work I want to give Cupramine a go instead..

Here is another thought since my DT has no invert or corals, while the fish is in treatment in QT and the DT I was thinking on letting it go fish less and nuke it with fresh water with 0 SG would this help to eradicate ich in my DT?

Mrscribbled
01/15/2013, 02:35 PM
The only thing that will truly erradicate ich cysts is a biocide. In your situation this is what has worked for me numerous times and I recommend.