PDA

View Full Version : Hitchhiker ID and some general newbie questions

FLSteve
01/21/2013, 08:05 PM
Hi all, first time posting but have been reading here for a few months. I have learned a ton and am glad to have found this community.
I am new to the hobbie and purchased a 55 gal. and set up a FOWLR system which I may convert to a reef someday. My cycle took almost 5 wks to complete. So far I have added about 60 different types of snails, 3 small Chromis (one got sucked into the powerhead other 2 still alive) and a small false clown. All were added at different times after no ammonia or nitrite was detectable.
Some interesting critters came with the LR.
This guy I've researched for hours and believe it's a bristle worm, good to have? Its about 1 1/2" long unstretched and can stretch to about 4".

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=4450089375292&set=pcb.4450090815328&type=1&theater

This I think is called a feather duster and is a type of worm? Should I be feeding it?

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=4450089695300&set=pcb.4450090815328&type=1&theater

When I did my cycle I had a small spike in ammonia but never saw a change in the nitrites. My nitrates did rise. The lfs told me they rarely see a spike in nitrite and as long as I am getting nitrate and no ammonia my tank has cycled. Is this correct?
I also had a diatom bloom that I think is at its end. I'm starting to see more green algae but there is still some of the brown. Is this normal?

I'm hoping this post comes out right as I can't see my pics in the preview window, fingers crossed. I appreciate your time in responding. ~Steve

Mat1018
01/21/2013, 08:59 PM
Yea that's a bristle worm or fire worm they can be good but also bad there good when there small but as they get bigger they hunt for bigger food sources. And have a nasty sting to them so be careful. And the second thing is a pest it's known as a aiptasia most people get rid of them as soon as they can.

FLSteve
01/22/2013, 12:15 AM