PDA

View Full Version : Dosing thoughts

jtbgonesailing
02/07/2013, 09:56 AM
I have been dosing 2part for several years and am able to maintain the Alk and Cal at the desired leavels. The dosing is split between lights On, Cal and lights Off, Alk on the hr. for both doses. My question is, is this best practice? I've seen where some dose the 2part product all at night, say Cal on the hr and Alk on the 1/2 hr, while others use a 24 hr doseing regement. What is best and why?

Thanks in advance.
John

disc1
02/07/2013, 10:05 AM
Six of one or a half dozen of the other. If it is working and your levels are right then you are doing it right. No one method is best for everyone. It all comes down to what works in your individual tank.

bertoni
02/08/2013, 01:29 AM
I don't think it matter much, either. I'd probably break the alkalinity dose into 0.5 dKH units or smaller if I were using a dosing pump and had touchy corals.

Ron Reefman
02/08/2013, 07:56 AM
Reefdosingpumps.com has really stout medical quality 'dual' dosing system that can run 24/7. I just set one up about 4 weeks ago. I dose 275 ml of cal & soda ash which took about 10 days to get really dialed in. Since then I've been at 420 cal, 8.5 alk and 8.2 pH 24/7. You can get them with battery back up as well.

tmz
02/08/2013, 09:17 AM
Folks dose sucessfully in differnt ways with different systems." Best practice" is subjective.

FWIW,

I spread the dose for calcium and alkalinity over the course of the day:

24/7 for calcium hydroxide in 150 increments ,10minutes apart,and;

small amounts of calcium chloride and soda ash( baked baking soda) separately , in 4 increments, two in the am and two at night,via perstaltic pumps .

My goals are to keep alk and salinity as steady as practical. Night time pH drops aren't a concern as long a it stays over 7.7 . PH swings about .2 in my aauriums from 8.15 to 8.35 ,daily.