PDA

View Full Version : is my return strong enough?

Modern-Revolution
02/19/2013, 08:14 PM
So I got this little giant which I plan on running as a return pump up to 3 30 gallon tanks. Mine is model 4-mdq-sc which I now realize is 880 gph and not 1200... would this be strong enough to return and split to 3 tanks about 4 feet above the pump with about 6 feet of plumbing?* Also the outlet is 1/2 inch so should I do all the plumbing at 1/2 inch or should I make it 1 inch?* I'm guessing the gph would be even worse at 1 inch.
This is my first time using external pumps and first shot at pvc hard plumbing.*
Here's a pic of the pump stats and my setup and my plumbing plan.
All criticism appreciated.

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y283/BillOne/pump3.png

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y283/BillOne/20130216_143511.jpg

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y283/BillOne/20130216_143905.jpg

tkeracer619
02/19/2013, 08:51 PM
Yes. Its plenty for a return. In fact its about double the general rule of thumb.

Personally I would return it or sell it and get a much smaller more efficient pump. The 4-mdq-sc will cost you $160 per year. Over a 5 year lifespan you are talking a $500 difference in power cost vs an Ehiem 1260.

Modern-Revolution
02/19/2013, 10:21 PM
Oh, wow.. that's a lot of money that I wasn't even considering. .. didn't realize it used so much energy. The eheim 1260 is one I was thinking of. I just had this external and thought it would be cool. Ty forthat bit. Makes a big difference.

tkeracer619
02/19/2013, 11:52 PM
You're welcome. Sometimes its the hidden costs that get us.

Ron Reefman
02/20/2013, 06:48 AM
Hold on just a second. I'm not sure how anybody can make such a recommendation on pump size with the limited info you gave us.

Three questions:
1) How big is the sump and what will you have in it (ie. skimmer, refugium, ect)
2) Will the return pump be the only thing that moves water in the 3 30g tanks?
3) What will be in the 3 tanks?