PDA

View Full Version : My tank CRASHED overnight! :'( Please help me try to figure out why.

JHempo
03/03/2013, 08:20 AM
OK so here's the whole story:

So I'm a newbie. I purchased a 7 month old biocube hqi about a month and a half ago. The tank has a cheato refugium in the back center and had 2 clownfish, a scooter dragonet, a hermit crab, an anemone (small, not sure what kind), a small mushroom, and a little circular patch of starburst. Everything was fine (i think) until about a week ago.
Oh, I should add that the rock and filter pads and carbon had been in the tank, but to transport the tank the previous owner took everything out, put it in a bucket, and threw the sand away and cleaned the tank. so basically i bought new live sand and put everything back in, being told the tank would go through a 'mini-cycle' but that everything would be fine since i didn't have alot of fish and the rock and filterpads were already established and it had a cheato refug as well. i also added a bottle of that instant ocean biospira to help things along. so everything was going along fine after a few weeks all everything was still alive and healthy and the tank was doing great with crystal clear water and algae-free rocks and sand.

So i added 5 peppermint shrimp and a scarlet hermit last weekend and they all seemed to be doing ok. many of the shrimp molted a few days later but they were all acting normal as far as i could tell.

Anyway, everything was fine until last week when i started to get green algae growth on the rocks and even some hair algae on my hermits shell. I realized I was running the lights too long (they were on throughout the day when I'm not home ~12 hours). I know i was overfeeding as well as I would feed pellets once a day and the guy at the lfs told me to stop to every two days and run the lights only 2-3 hours a day.