PDA

View Full Version : Is my tank too clean?

Nathan4Wvu
03/04/2013, 02:57 PM
I'm becoming increasing frustrated with my 120. It has been up and running for about 11 months now and I cannot get my SPS or even LPS to look good. This is my first tank over 100 gallons and I have been keeping sps and lps in smaller tanks for about 10 years.

Setup.
120G AGA
SG: 1.026
Calcium: 440
Alkalinity: 9-10 dKh
Magnesium: 1,200-1400 ppm
Nitrate: 1-2 ppm
Phosphate: 0 - 0.02 ppm

My bio load is small by most standards
2 small clowns
1 3" fox face
1 1" 6line
1 coral banded shrimp
1 3 inch watchman goby

My skimmer is close to being undersized it's a reef octopus 150.
I have ran a bio pellet reactor since day one with gfo and carbon reactors changed monthly. The tank has a refugium with a large ball of chaetomorpha.

I religiously change 40 gallons of water each month and my Ca and alk are kept in check with a Kalk reactor and A/B part hand dosing when required.

Two weeks ago due to the fact my wife and I are expecting I down sized the system by 145 gallons. I removed the frag tank, large fuge and Rubbermaid sump. Here are the before and after pics.

Before
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii209/nathan4wvu/IMAG0581.jpg

After
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii209/nathan4wvu/FD86A4F5-C069-4C2F-928C-89BA5482CF50-2476-000000C77D72FD31.jpg

Also, a lot my LPS have lost significant color. They still look similar to when they came in on the ausi shipments but you can see their white skeleton through the tissue.

Everything is growing well and has great polyp extension. On one side of the tank I run a 250DE bulb. The other side has 130watts of LED. I can tell no difference in the two sides as far as coloration and the lighting has been setup this way for about 9 month. Normal 8 hour light cycle.

So signs of red bugs.

Jan 2013
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii209/nathan4wvu/9671092B-E086-4D83-90BE-11919818FFD9-2476-000000CA00B92550.jpg

6-27-12