PDA

View Full Version : Nano tank build with built in skimmer, Ca Reactor, DSB refugium, phyto culture

kenny b
03/13/2013, 01:01 AM
I'm returning to the hobby from an 9 year hiatus with quite the DIY project. During that 9 year hiatus, I graduated high school, earned a B.S. in mechanical engineering and a M.S. in engineering mechanics and now I'm working on a PhD in Electrical/Optical engineering. There have been some significant advances in the hobby in those 9 years as well, particularly with LED lighting. Anyways, this project is going to be a beast and here's what I've been designing.

All acrylic 12"x12"x20" (~12.5 gal)with an internal 4"x12"x12" (~2.5 gal) section partitioned off via overflow as a filtration and utilities compartment.
For utilities, I'm going with a single Maxijet 1200 (295 GPH at 0 head) to power everything and a 50W Eheim Jaiger heater. I've designed a miniature Ca reactor/protein skimmer unit with some unique self-contained features that will fit within the filtration compartment. There will be a refugium compartment with 6" sand bed, and a continuously dosing phytoplankton culture (~1 drip per minutes).