PDA

View Full Version : Recreating the Sargassum Sea?

Alavaster
03/17/2013, 03:52 PM
Hi everyone, I'm Alavaster! I'm pretty new to the Ref central community, But I've been in the addiction for a while now.

Living on the gulf, I've always been fascinated with the huge clumps of Sargassum sea weed that wash ashore every summer. These drifting habitats host all sorts of fascinating crustacean, mollusks, and fish that travel hundreds of miles with the currents. My question is, would it be possible to recreate that specific habitat.
Through physical collection and examination I have found at least 7-8 species of macro algae all clumped together, trigger fish, at least 10 species of shrimp, more varieties of snails and crabs than I can count, and even the occasional pipefish, or nudibranch! The macro algae floats along and a huge ecosystem thrives just below, and inside of it.
I would consider collection for stocking such a tank. But I only consider collection, because every year I am sad to see all the Sargassum and life aboard its yellow leaves wash up and die in droves. . So I have the opportunity to find specimens just before they wash ashore. (also local laws and regulations would need to be checked and followed before any permanent collection)What would be the best method of keeping such a macro in a small dedicated display aquarium?
Obviously the main things to consider would be
>Lighting (focused more on growing macro Algae rather than coral)
>Flow (species collected will have traveled on ocean currents just fine)
>Containment of sargassum (prevention of system clogging from Sargassum)
>Species desired (as many are aggressive)
> Filtration
> Size/ depth of tank

up until now I have considered trying a thin sand bed with various benthic species (gobies, brittle stars, conch) and then a top layer of Sargassum on the surface with Sargassum host species. creating a full range of life that would be found here in the Caribbean.