PDA

View Full Version : dilemma.. need help

Bogdan33
03/22/2013, 05:47 AM
:headwalls:Hello folks.. I am new to the hobby and i am hoping I can get a couple questions answered. I have a 30 gallon tank that I bought from somebody who obviously abused the tank by not doing regular water changes or cleaning.. I have a few fish but no corals.. The tank has a crushed coral bottom and some live rock.. I don't really care for the crushed coral look and no matter how many water changes I do it still just doesn't look that good.. I am thinking about putting live sand in my tank but I want to avoid starting a cycle again (the tank has been running for about a year and a half). I read up on some live sand that can be put in the aquarium and then you can add the fish right away without having to worry about an ammonia spike. Is that a good idea? And how should I go about doing the overhaul? Thank you in advance for all the help.

bnumair
03/22/2013, 07:15 AM
u can safely remove 1/4 to 1/2 of the crushed coral and replace it with live sand once a week. keep a bottle of prime or amquel handy just in case and maybe some water in case u have to do water changes.

Cymonous
03/22/2013, 07:56 AM
Shouldn't he not use "Live Sand" since this is an established tank with fish in the tank? The "Live Sand" in a bag is going to have more dead stuff than anything and you probably will have a cycle. If you want to replace the sand, I would get non-live sand. The new sand will eventually become live on its own and it is cheaper.

I would still follow the same instruction as above from bnumair by replacing only 1/4 to 1/2 at a time. Wait at least a couple days to a week at a time.

Sk8r
03/22/2013, 08:12 AM