PDA

View Full Version : Worth using?

Trouty27
03/24/2013, 04:53 PM
Im new to the hobby and friend gave me his old 46gal bow front tank. I want to set up a saltwater tank and over time turn it into a reef tank. My question is it worth buying equipment for this tank or should I just get a tank with a built in overflow? The glass is tempered so Im unable to drill it.

Zypharus
03/24/2013, 05:06 PM
If it holds water, you can use it for a tank. The worth of making it as you desire will depend on your likes/dislikes about the differences of running an undrilled tank. Many people run undrilled tanks, it just takes a little different equipment set. I'd suggest reading some setup information - you're definitely in the right place for that!

Oh and Welcome to RC!

bugs713
03/24/2013, 05:06 PM
Welcome to RC!
CPR makes some good overflows for non drilled tanks, but you may be able to drill the back glass and still have a good overflow without having to use the HOB overflow.

Chaotic Reefer4u
03/24/2013, 05:10 PM
Trouty,
It all depends if you have the sufficient funding for a reef ready tank compared to what you already have? It's your choice, although if done properly id say they'd both look nice!
Hope this helps. . .:wave:

eastfernstreet
03/24/2013, 05:20 PM
Speaking as a noob, I'd have gone larger than the 90gal I have if I could have. Don't let the small amount of money that a free tank will save trick you into entering this hobby unless you are willing to invest serious money. Might as well get a large tank (120+) and save the 46 for a QT or a species tank.

Trouty27
03/24/2013, 05:31 PM
Its not a money thing cuz I know, well atleast I think i do, the money pit Im about to open. Its more of a space thing at this point.

borderreef
03/24/2013, 05:35 PM
You could go with an HOB skimmer and an HOB fuge, or as was stated before, go with a CPR overflow and put the sump under the tank for your skimmer and/or fuge. (Almost) anything for free is worth using.

Mikie_P