PDA

View Full Version : hermit crab out of shell!

ilikepie777
03/24/2013, 07:00 PM
hi i just bought 6 red legged hermet crab(dont know official name) and i put them into my 14 gallon biocube, well everything was going fine until in the evening i noticed one of the hermit crabs left their shell, I poked it for a while with a small syringe trying to urge it back into it's shell but it just curled into a ball. So my questions are: is it normal for hermit crabs to come out of their shells? and if so did i kill it by poking it with a syringe while it's body was exposed? im new to keeping marine creatures so these questions might seem stupid but hope someone will reply thx!

ilikepie777
03/24/2013, 07:03 PM
k just an update caz im getting kind of desperate now it's laying on it's side and it is not moving, it's still out of it's shell, hoping it's not gonna die

mikecc67548
03/24/2013, 07:09 PM
1: Quit poking it with a syringe.

Coralfrager
03/24/2013, 07:13 PM
It's probably dead now..

tanzer16
03/24/2013, 07:17 PM
Occasionally I think they will seek bigger shells as they grow, but not sure if that's what yours was doing. I put several empty shells of all sizes in to make sure they have various options (and don't go snail hunting either). After dropping some in, my blue legged hermit switched almost immediately.

Also, I think as they grow larger, they molt and what you may be seeing is the exoskeleton .....which looks just like a hermit crab out of a shell.

Emmanuel.dam
03/24/2013, 07:19 PM
Sorry to but in on your post but where should I get the bigger shells from?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ilikepie777
03/24/2013, 07:34 PM
Occasionally I think they will seek bigger shells as they grow, but not sure if that's what yours was doing. I put several empty shells of all sizes in to make sure they have various options (and don't go snail hunting either). After dropping some in, my blue legged hermit switched almost immediately.