PDA

View Full Version : Uh-oh, all input is greatly appreciated!

ReefLuvr00
03/24/2013, 08:28 PM
Hello, I am new to Saltwater aquariums. Okay about 3 1/2 - 4 weeks ago I went to my LFS and decided to get a 30g Saltwater aquarium. The woman told me no problem and helped me get everything I needed to set it up (Live rock, live sand, Aqueon 50 filter, heater, and large box of instant ocean salt mix ). I then asked her after I got home and got the tank set up how long would it be until I could add fish, her reply "tomorrow as long as the sand has settled and the water is no longer cloudy". Little did I know I should have done much research before I went to my LFS. ( no harsh comments please, i am still a newbie and now know that I need to learn as much as I can before I move forward to keeping this tank). Anyways, I went back the next day and purchased, 1 Yellow Tang, 1 Black saddleback clownfish, 1 Chocolate Chip Starfish, 2 blue leg hermit crabs, and 1 Green Striped Mandarin fish. Tank has been doing great, salinity is at 1.023-1.024 and I bought a 800gph powerhead for the tank as well about two weeks ago. I have been doing 25-30% water changes every two weeks. I have no bought myself a test kit for the water but have been taking a water sample into my LFS once a week and all has been fine, last week Nitrites were a little high but they told me that it would be fine. SOO, this morning I get up and the clownfish was hanging around the top of the tank like gulping for air and the black on him was starting to turn white....did a water change and that didnt help he lost the fight and died:sad1: Around noon i fed the other fish in the tank some frozen Mysis shrimp and the yellow tang did not eat and usually he is the liveliest fish in the tank. An hour later my tangs fins and face and sides started turning red with splotches everywhere and then he started going to the top of the water, and now he has passed away......