PDA

View Full Version : Complete Noob Setting Up 29 Gallon Reef Tank, Need Advice!

wamps98
03/25/2013, 08:35 AM
Hey guys, I have been reading forums and been doing research and I've seen other threads similar to mine, but I am just curious what I do and don't need. I work at a local pet store and am very experienced with fresh water but we don't sell any saltwater fish, just supplies. So... Long story short, I will be soon getting rid of my FW fish in my 29 Gallon and would like to make it into a Reef tank with maybe a clown and 2 goby and a CUC. Looking to make sure I get the right stuff yet.

I have so far:

29 Gallon Tank
Aqua Tech filter, its older and never had a problem.( Don't know if I need this)
Coral Life 24" T5 Dual light
100watt or 150watt heater, have both.
Have hydrometer at work
Have water test kit for trates/trites/ammonia/ph/high ph

Planning to get:

Sand
Powerhead
Rock(most likely 90% dry live rock/ 10% live)
Instant ocean reef crystals

Unsure to get:

Protein Skimmer

1.Some people say get Live Sand, others say its a gimmick just buy sand from Home Depot. Which is it?

2. If I do 90% dry live rock/ 10% live, would it be beneficial to add something like purple tech or something similar etc...

3. If i get a protein skimmer, how often do you have to do water changes?

4.Can I use water from my established FW tank and add some salt to help cycle?

5. Don't know if I need my filter... some say yes others no...

My plan was to get rid of my FW fish/gravel/decorations. Fill the tank up add necessary salt and let run for a week. Add 90% of my dry rock/ 10% of live rock, then add non live sand and use some purple tech possibly to help cycle the tank. Let this run for a month or two. Have heard some people use a cocktail shrimp to help. After a month or two add a fish see how he does. Please help me and advise what you would change about my plan. Thanks guys!

Fredso
03/25/2013, 08:59 AM