PDA

View Full Version : Help with my new reef octopus nw 110

vihsyaj
03/25/2013, 09:36 PM
http://db.tt/uMsfwU6y

vihsyaj
03/25/2013, 09:39 PM
hi guys... I just bought a nw 110, I am still preparing my tank so I haven't yet connected the skimmer. But since this is my first time I thought i will give it a trial run, I first ran freshwater.... And the force or bubbles from the pump was very less... More like beer just poured in to a glass.....I added salt and the bubbles increased and gave me some little froth.... But I still feel my pump is not giving enough force out as compared to the videos I have seen of the same skimmer... Bubbles almost blast and hit the skimmer walls, however mine barely reaches the centre of the cone.... Is this how its supposed to be? Will it start blasting after breaking in?

vihsyaj
03/26/2013, 05:10 AM
?????

Percula9
03/26/2013, 12:11 PM
First you can't run a skimmer in fresh water. It has to be run in full strength salt water. It also needs a break in period.

MrClam
03/26/2013, 12:20 PM
I am a little confused by your description but if you are running it in clean saltwater it will not produce skimmate because there are no proteins in the water to skim. Also it needs a break-in period to remove any residue from manufacturing and build a slime coat before it will function correctly. As long as you checked its not damaged and the pump works just relax and wait until the tank is set up to dial it in.

sail33
03/26/2013, 01:02 PM
I think an important point may have been missed. As I understand your concern, you are expecting the foam to fill the cup. That's not where the level should be set.

First wash the skimmer to remove any chemicals from the manufacturing process. White vinegar should do the job.

Rinse , rinse rinse.

Install so that the water level outside the skimmer is to mfg limits.

Once plumbed in, turn the proper valve/tube etc to raise or lower the level of bubbles to the bottom of the collection cup.