PDA

View Full Version : T5 tube lighting

Emmanuel.dam
03/26/2013, 05:21 AM
My hood that I bought as it is a second hand tank, came with 8 t8 lights and I would like to upgrade them prior too setting it up :-) what should I do, should I have red blue and white t5 if so how many of each? And I am planning on having lps and fish, maybe even sps down the road, input is muchly appreciated

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

silleb
03/26/2013, 06:23 AM
I'm no expert on t5, but I believe actinic and white are what most use. One thing I do know is that t5 has best results when combined with good mirror like reflectors. That's the first thing is check before I upgrade an older t8 fixture. Remember, you'll need a different ballast to run t5.

Sugar Magnolia
03/26/2013, 08:30 AM
I'm pretty sure you're going to need a T5 conversion kit in order to run T5 lights in a T8 fixture.

reeftobe
03/26/2013, 08:40 AM
you will need atleast the new ends for t-5.

ATI bulbs are great!. Depending on color u seek....
4Blue+, purple+, 1 aquablue special & 2 coral+

Would be a good start & tweak from there. I am not a huge fan of actininc bulbs for t-5. especially when the blue + cover that spectrum. If you want to run actinic, maybe remove one blue + & purple + and then swap in 2 actininc

Emmanuel.dam
03/26/2013, 03:19 PM
Are t8 lights ok or pretty much a no go

Emmanuel.dam
03/27/2013, 12:00 AM
Will that take t5 tubes?

Dozer1one
03/27/2013, 04:34 AM