PDA

View Full Version : Why is there so much hatred for the Coralife Super Skimmers

dirkomatic
03/26/2013, 09:07 AM
The Coralife 65 I bought seems to be doing a great job... But I'm a noob, what do I know...

Could someone tell me why everyone says to stay away from them?

thegrun
03/26/2013, 09:35 AM
They are notoriously difficult to keep tuned to the consistant skimate thickness, inefficient and cheaply made. Other than that they are wonderful skimmers!

dirkomatic
03/26/2013, 09:42 AM
They are notoriously difficult to keep tuned to the consistant skimate thickness, inefficient and cheaply made. Other than that they are wonderful skimmers!

Are you speaking from experience, or just repeating what others have said?

I know I haven't seen many skimmers, but mine doesn't seem cheaply made. It is all pretty thick plastic and has a decent pump. Granted, I only have a CUC right now, but the skimmate seems consistent. The only thing that bothers me about it is that I have to turn it off to take the cup off.

JustinGr
03/26/2013, 09:45 AM
Trust me, I had one, no, two, and they worked OK, but when I got a new Reef Octo skimmer, the results were night and day.

My Coralife had a problem of working well for a period of time then for no reason flood the floor. I have never had this happen with my Reef Octo.

They are OK for intro skimmers, but if you want the best skimmer, you need to upgrade.

McMillin5
03/26/2013, 09:48 AM
Cant buy parts i need a venturi and they dont even make them

dirkomatic
03/26/2013, 09:55 AM
Trust me, I had one, no, two, and they worked OK, but when I got a new Reef Octo skimmer, the results were night and day.

My Coralife had a problem of working well for a period of time then for no reason flood the floor. I have never had this happen with my Reef Octo.

They are OK for intro skimmers, but if you want the best skimmer, you need to upgrade.