PDA

View Full Version : my porcupine puffer hanging out at the bottom

natasharos
03/27/2013, 05:24 PM
of my new 40 gallon tank. I'm a newbie. I started my tank about 2 weeks ago.

Had the water tested--too much salt. Guy at the fish shop sold me the right water to add.

Went back--water fine, added two damsels.

Back the following week. Water just fine. Bought a sweet porcupine puffer. Got him Krill and feed him one or two per day. He ate the first night home.

He's in there with two damsels and in the last couple days he's hanging out at the bottom of the tank and I'm worried.

It's Wednesday night and my plan is to take the water in again Friday evening and have it tested.

Maybe the damsels are aggressive with him? Or maybe the water if off?

My plan is to get another puffer--dog faced, and a picasso trigger, all about the same size, but want to make sure my little porcupine puffer is ok first.

Any ideas/suggestions?

Windirmere
03/27/2013, 05:41 PM
Are you topping off your water thats evaporating? how large is the puffer, I believe the fish you are interested get large and need tanks that are over 100gallons :S. We need more information about your tank, like How old it is, filtration, and your maintenance plans to help you out more.

whiteshark
03/27/2013, 05:41 PM
Your tank is not yet cycled. Your LFS is giving you terrible advice. The tank is not ready for fish yet and the messy porcupine is going to make a heavy cycle that it probably won't live through. You should take all the fish back then read all the stickies at the top of this forum. Properly cycle your tank and add the proper equipment. In several weeks (could be up to 8) you'll be ready for fish.

Also know that one puffer in a 40 is already too much. Another one is way too much. A trigger on top of that is way way too much.

natasharos
03/27/2013, 06:03 PM