good_reefer
03/30/2013, 09:07 PM
bought a sun coral ....
Im kinda new to this don't know if im ready to feed corals every day :(
now I have to learn to make phytoplankton:uhoh3:

squishifishi
03/30/2013, 09:13 PM
feeding tip:
cut the op off of a platic bottle so you have a bell shape with the thin neck on top.
when you feed it, place the bell over the coral, and squirt the food through the neck of the bottle.
this keeps nutrients from drifting away, and keeps other critters from picking at it while it tries to eat. leave it there for awhile so it can finish eating, then use a siphon to suck the gunk out of the covered area, then take your bottle top back out. voila! clean, efficient feeding!
good luck!

Mstefa1
03/30/2013, 10:07 PM
bought a sun coral ....
Im kinda new to this don't know if im ready to feed corals every day :(
now I have to learn to make phytoplankton:uhoh3:

Feed Mysis 3x / week and you will have a happy sun coral. If you want a lot of growth then feed more often.

OrQidz
03/30/2013, 10:10 PM
on the other hand, you can probably trade it to someone else if you don't want to keep up the feeding regimen long term.

Twwety
03/30/2013, 10:23 PM
I use to spend an hour waiting from the heads to open after I fed every thing else, now I just spray a bunch of Mysis shrimp on the closed up heads they just open up there mouths an slurp up there mucus coating. Really easy to feed, but all my fish are really well behaved and do exactly what I tell them to do. No matter how much the fish and shrimps manage to steal it always seem to save some for it self.

good_reefer
03/30/2013, 10:53 PM
thanks all fofr thee tips... ill give it ago ....
but wow!!! this hobby is getting very labor intensive

badguitarist
03/31/2013, 12:48 AM
Yes small meaty foods are perfect for sun corals. Mysis chopped shrimp etc. don't worry there's no need to culture phyto, Sun corals are meat eaters. Good luck!

good_reefer
03/31/2013, 07:34 AM
thanks everyone for the tips ....