PDA

View Full Version : When did people learn about cycling tanks

NiaCas
03/30/2013, 09:32 PM
I'm very new to the hobby. I've wanted to start for a while, but wanted to make sure I had the money. I'm just starting with a 10 gallon tank right now that I got for free (will add a bigger one very soon)- when I finish cycling I'll get some shrimp, some harlequin rasboras, pretty plants, and some neons. I just got everything set up and have started cycling. I'm asking this question because when my mom gave me all the supplies I have now (b-day), she gave me a hard time about the concept of cycling. Went on for a long time about how she'd never heard of cycling and when she had fish tanks (last one was more than 15 years ago) full of cichlids and catfish or something (I remember catfish), she never cycled. Just used distilled water and added water from the bag the fish were in and ALL the fish were just fine being added right away after leaving the bags in the tank for a half hour. No dead ones. Therefore, the concept of cycling is ridiculous. The tanks were usually 25-55 gallons btw

Now, as usual, I'm taking other people's advice and doing it the right way, but it did get me thinking...how long has it been the right way? Did people just learn about cycling and why cycling's important in the past 15 years? If not, then when? Is there more information around about when the concept became popular and the people involved with studies about it or something? Or is the process like one of those ancient Chinese deals that just that was created by some super old sage guy based on observations, trial, and error? I just find it an interesting subject and I do have about a month to kill before I get to finally have fish so I thought I'd ask :lol2:

OrQidz
03/30/2013, 09:43 PM