PDA

View Full Version : Marine Velvet or Ich? Blue tang, help wanted! Pics inside

Sixstringmayhem
04/09/2013, 01:28 AM
Hey guys,

So i noticed a few white spots on my blue tang when i first got him home in the Display tank, (didnt quarantine him) so then decided to start a hypo-salinity treatment on the tang along with my two very small clowns ( the only other fish i have), in a 30 gal QT tank, i've been lowering the Salinity for the past week, the first 48 hours in not a single spot was to be found on any of them, but within the last day and a half the blue tang has completely broken out worse than ever. i feel so bad for him.
the clowns are showing no signs of anything

my specific gravity has just reached 1.009 today.

They are all eating, but the tang seems very uncomfortable.
This is my first time dealing with a saltwater parasite and im assuming its ich but someone said it could be velvet too?

just wanted a some second opinions, if it is velvet, hyposalinity will do nothing for it.

and if its ich, should i give him a quick freshwater dip?

Thank!

ps. sorry for yet another post on ich

http://i93.photobucket.com/albums/l73/sixstringmayhem13/photo-11_zps9e0b2436.jpg

http://i93.photobucket.com/albums/l73/sixstringmayhem13/photo-12_zps374c84af.jpg

cy93
04/09/2013, 05:51 AM
Hi Sixstringmayhem,

I believe this is lymph, I had a similar experience with my hippo after a month in quarantine undergoing hypo; unfortunately he didn't make it. Lets hope better for yours. Here is a link that i found before that might help:

http://www.reefsanctuary.com/forums/fish-diseases-treatments/69537-lymphocystis-info-cure.html

roenicknewf
04/09/2013, 07:05 AM
I think that is a heavy infestation of ich ..
a FW dip will benefit him greatly ..
If it were velvet they would probably all be dead by now,its a fast killer..
I would keep in hypo ,and keep the DT empty for 8 weeks ..
Only thing i would be worried about is how long you took to lower the salinity(ich may adjust to it )..