PDA

View Full Version : Clownfish partners

hossa81
04/13/2013, 08:14 PM
I have acouple questions. First, my situation. I had a pair of true perculas but during a qt. the male jumped out so now im looking for a new pair. Our lfs is selling ocellaris and true picasso percula clowns. I noticed that the picasso clowns had black eyes so r they true percs? Also, since the black ones r about half the price of the picassos so is it possible that i could get one black picasso true percula and one of the "fudge glazed" ocellaris clowns? They were all in the same tank the lat time i was there.

wcroft987
04/14/2013, 04:00 AM
I am no expert but I have read a lot about clowns and have a few myself.

Picasso will be pricier because they are "designer clowns". As far as eye color a quick google search found
http://www.ocellarisclownfish.com/difference-between-ocellaris-and-percula-clownfish/
As far as I know it is best to pair the same species, so I would buy a small true perc to pair with your current female to be safe. As far as all of the clowns being in the same tank, as far as I know when they are all juviniles they will get along until one out grows the other and becomes the dominate male than female and starts the pecking order which will phase out the opposite species.

Like I said I am not an expert this is from my reading and experience and I may be wrong and if so please correct me.

Mr. Bill
04/14/2013, 04:26 AM
First, you should get a mate for your current female or return her. Your tank is too small for 2 females of similar species.

That said, yes you can mix true and false percs as well as their black counterparts and designer morphs. Just make sure you're getting two unsexed juvies or a true pair (with 2 males, 1 will become female, but it may be a lengthy and ugly fight; with 2 females, it usually ends in a fight to the death).

hossa81
04/14/2013, 11:29 AM