PDA

View Full Version : Help with my parameters

oldss72
04/15/2013, 08:35 PM
Hello,

I have been keeping a Salt water tank for ~2 years now. I started with a 10 gallon fish only, then 20 gallon w/o sump, 20 gallon with 10 gallon sump, 60 gallon with 20 gallon sump and now 60 gallon with 55 gallon sump.

I set up my 55 gallon sump in my basement approx. 2 months ago because I was tired of spilling water during water changes in my living room, wanted to increase my water volume, and decrease the clutter under the stand.

Since setting up the 55 gallon sump, my corals with the exception of my mushrooms and leathers have been struggling. I have had ecoxotic LED lights over my 60 gallon since I set it up ~1 year ago. everything did very well then.

Approximately 8 months ago, I had an Ich problem - and lost all my fish with the exception of my copper banded. After re-introducing my copper banded and re-stocking my tank, I had nitrate issues which I thought was from the sudden increase of bioload. (copper banded, maroon clown pair, pajama cardinals - 2, blue chromis - down to 2 due to one going carpet surfing). The tank stabilized with the help of vodka dosing, and my nitrates tested at 4-8 for quite a while.

With other things going on, my water changes lagged, and My feedings increased. This caused my nitrates to increase again, and was up to about 50 when I decided to move the sump to the basement. Since then, I have been struggling to keep my nitrates low and have been doing large water changes. Nitrates have been around 8 for ~2-3 weeks now. I understand this is not too high, but my zoas and my polyps have looked bad and my LPS has declined.

My current water parameters are:
Mg - 1370 - (this was ~1120 2 weeks ago due to my water changes - tested new salt and found that my fresh oceanic batches were ~1100) (salifert)
Ca - 460 (salifert)
Alk - 8.0 (salifert)
Phosphate - 0.00-0.02 (hanna checker) - GFO reactor runs 8 hrs per day.
Nitrate - between 8-12 (red sea)