PDA

View Full Version : stichodactyla gigantea

Reefnation.Jon
04/17/2013, 08:30 AM
Giga Pros,

I am new to this anemone. I have kept other anemones and sps's successfully for years.

How difficult is this species? Is the one in the pic healthy? It looks a bit bleached. LFS is asking $125.

Please assist.

Thank you

Pinkskunk
04/17/2013, 08:37 AM
it looks super nice and healthy. as for care you need to dig up that info on RC, ther are a million and a half threads about this type of nem LOL.....

best of luck, i am super jeolous with you guys in IL.....

Also $125 for that at a LFS is considered super good price, at least for folks like me here in the Northeast.

Jerm0007
04/17/2013, 08:47 AM
I agree, looks pretty good. Bleached, but good. And also a real steal!

Gary Majchrzak
04/17/2013, 09:33 AM
nice looking anemone. Not a "steal" in my opinion but looks like a good deal.

Reefnation.Jon
04/17/2013, 09:44 AM
Thanks guys.

What is typical asking price for these?

aydemir
04/17/2013, 09:51 AM
Pretty close to 125 imo, LFS where I live sells from 90-150 depending on type, size, etc

OrionN
04/17/2013, 10:06 AM
300+ in corpus Christi, TX

OrionN
04/17/2013, 10:10 AM
That anemone is bleached but that is not a big concern. It looks reasonably good for gigantea newly import and in LFS. It is unreliable to tell the health of a Gigantea from looking at one picture or look at it one time. Un-healthy gigantea or magnifica can look good most of the time and deflated some time. As they get worst they will not look as good and deflate more and more. If he have been at the LFS for a while, then he is a good bet. Otherwise, be prepare to treat him with antibiotic in treatment tank.

xtlosx
04/17/2013, 10:50 AM