PDA

View Full Version : Help setting up a Macro Algae/Pod tank

Adamw327
04/24/2013, 05:05 PM
I am setting up a 10g inside the stand for my 55. It is NOT going to be plumbed into my DT.

Its set up and cycled. In the mail i have an Ulva macro and another varied macro, as well as all sorts of pods, mysis shrimp, and other micro organisms on the way

On one side of the tank i have a thin layer of live sand, and on the other i have mounds of crushed coral and some live rock piles.

I am fairly new to the entire hobby, and this is my first adventure into macro algae as well as pod cultivation. I hope to have a mandarin in 6 months or so.

I will also be putting some of each into my display, so that if something goes wrong with either system i will have a back up and will not have to start over again.

Can anyone share advice, tips, or good reads? I was hoping to find some helpful threads here on macro care but it seems to be more of an ID forum than anything

Thanks ahead of time!

Adamw327
04/28/2013, 11:24 AM
The other Algae turned out to be Red Gracilaria.

And i highly recommend reefcleaners.org!

Unfortunately i have not had much luck keeping either alive, they were in great shape when they arrived however, but the first night the Grac. fell out of place and out of the current and about 1/4 turned white, but now 3 days later i do not see anymore white, and there is new growth. I am not sure if i should trim the white out, considering also that its in between healthy growth, so it would separate the plant and i do not want to cause any more stress.

The Ulva on the other hand was at first doing great, very hard to keep attached, and i have seen recommendations at tumbling but since i do not have a cage or something build it ends up stuck to the intake of pumps. It was seeming fine the first few days, hard to notice new growth, then this morning one of the 6 or 7 pieces i received started to turn clear.