PDA

View Full Version : New to Nano Tanks...some assistance please

aaron02
04/29/2013, 10:35 PM
Hi all, I am new to nano tanks and aquariums for that matter. I have done some research and as I am sure you all know, there is a ton out there which can get overwhelming. I was hoping someone might be able to assist with my first item...my tank. I am looking to set up a ~20 gallon tank after set up items. I know the smaller they are the herder they are, however I have limited space but a lot of patience. With that said, I am looking at the following.

JBJ Nano Cube RL Rimless Biotope Aquarium - 30 Gallon
Innovative Marine 16 Gallon Nano Aquarium
Clear For Life Rectangle Acrylic UniQuarium 20 Gallons

Does anyone have any thoughts on these? Glass vs acrylic at this size? All in one tanks, good idea? I know this limits me for the future but I also dont plan on moving anytime soon with more space. Do the filters, pumps, etc with these all in ones cut it? If not this would be part two, which of these tanks and then which of the following are the best buys:

Lights
Filter
Pumps
skimmer
heater

THANK YOU SO MUCH!

premilove
05/08/2013, 09:38 AM
how much space do you have? can you fit a 24"x24"x12" ? check out my build.. your equipment depends on what you want to keep.

if you want to keep all corals:

LEDs-
Radion
AI Nano
Kessil a150( depending on your tank size)
Maxspect

T5's
ATI 4 bulb

Metal Halide- one 150w hqi however you must factor in the possible necessity of a chiller and the increased electricity costs..

Tanks- It really depends on your space. If you want an all in one tank- solana, biocubes, nanocubes seem to be the popular ones. If you go with a reef ready tank, you will have the added bonus of a sump, ultimately increasing your water capacity.