PDA

View Full Version : Aquatic Connection RO/DI System


Holedup82
05/06/2013, 08:39 AM
Does anyone have experience with Aquatic Connection's 75gpd RO/DI 3 stage System? I purchased one. Even with limited experience I am pretty sure the unit should produce waste water. After unpacking and checking components I found the the system has a line for water in, a 1 micron sediment filter, a carbon block, and a DI membrane then a line out. No way for waste water to be kept separate from RO/DI water? Looking at the picture on their website this setup looks exactly like what is pictured. All other units i looked at in retrospect have a line for waste water. Obviously I first reached out to Aquatic Connection (still awaiting a reply) however I wanted to see if there was anyone out there who has one or used one in the past. It's my first RO/DI unit.

shifty51008
05/06/2013, 08:43 AM
do you have a link to the unit you have?

Holedup82
05/06/2013, 08:51 AM
http://www.aquacon.com/AquaticConnectionROSystems.html

The unit I purchased is the very first one on the list

shifty51008
05/06/2013, 08:55 AM
http://www.aquacon.com/AquaticConnectionROSystems.html

if the unit you got was the 89.00 one then I hate to say but you got jipped. it isn't even a RODI unit. it doesn't even have a membrane which is what does most of the work. without that membrane you will be going through the DI very very fast.

also the waste water comes from the membrane which is why your not seeing any.

I would call Russ at buckeyefieldsupply.com and tell him about this unit and he can get you the parts to make it a quality unit.

and last that site is junk their other name is aquacon the CON at the end is what they do to people.

shifty51008
05/06/2013, 08:57 AM
I forgot to say [welcome]

sorry it had to start off with the bad news though.

Holedup82
05/06/2013, 09:50 AM
Looking at the picture...where would the DI membrane be located. If I am guessing correctly the horizontal unit located on the top of the the entire system or can it be internalized (not even sure if that's a word) and thanks for the welcome!

Holedup82
05/06/2013, 10:19 AM
Never mind basically answered my own question, what I seem to have is a fancy carbon filter for the water and that's it. I need to add and RO Membrane and what else. Looking through diagrams online I would run water from the carbon stage to the RO membrane then back to DI resin stage. Waste water will be bled off at the membrane RO water will be fed to the DI resin from the membrane and good RO/DI water will exit the DI resin stage? Didn't want to DIY this but after looking at the Aquacon reviews I am going to have to

telijah
05/06/2013, 12:58 PM
Most people go for at least a 4 stage, which is usually a sediment filter, carbon block, RO membrane, and DI resin. As Shifty stated, the guy at Buck Eye should be able to help you add the missing pieces to make that a good unit. The RO membrane is where your waste water will come from. The waste water is water used to flush over the membrane to try and keep it free from particles clogging up the surface of the membrane.

Holedup82
05/06/2013, 01:01 PM
Perfect if two people are saying buckeye I'll give em a buzz