PDA

View Full Version : Another New Zeovit Build

Buzz1329
05/07/2013, 04:28 PM
This afternoon, I bought a “closeout” Vertex ZF-30 Zeolith Reactor 3.0L (with pump) for $130 at Premium Aquatics, which I’ll be using on a new 180 gallon SPS DT with 40 gallon sump. :beer:

I’ve been keeping reefs off and on for about 20 years -- most recently a 75 gallon mixed reef which uses the kitchen sink school of maintenance. I do weekly 10 gallon water changes with RO/DI water and IO salt, run GFO and GAC in a reactor, dose vinegar, use 2 small Santa Monica ATSs, a filter sock, and an SRO 2000INT skimmer. I get what I consider to be OK growth (the tank is bursting with SPS frags) and color (on mainly “starter” SPS like monipora digita and M. capricornis). But I’m also battling bubble algae, diatom blooms on parts of the sand bed, and a reoccurring patch of red cyano. So I’ve decided to give Zeovit a try on my new tank.

With the money I save on a GFO reactor, ATS, live sand, live rock, reef rubble, Dr. Tim’s bacteria, etc., it seems like it will not be that much more expensive than the traditional route. The plan is to transfer the SPS from the 75 to the new tank and to focus on LPS in the 75.

Anyways, after reading through Zeovit materials on their site and posts on here, I had some questions:

1. The Zeovit brochure says to switch the reactor pump on and off in 3 hour cycles. I’m not thrilled about repeatedly starting and stopping a pump on a bio-reactor – seems like if the pump misses an on cycle there could be big trouble. Is this still the current practice?

2. Zeovit gives the recommended alk range as 6.5 to 7.5 dKH. Is that still the target? Seems kind of low to me, but if that's what works, I’ll certainly save on dosing.