PDA

View Full Version : Black Ich?

li_newb
05/09/2013, 09:28 AM
Hey all, I picked up two fish last week, since im new to all this I guess it wasn't the smartest. My tanks were newly cycled and the LFS was having a sale. So I have a small ~2in. coral beauty in my 10 gallon QT still very shy but eating. in my 46 Bowfront DT I put my ~2in Niger trigger since I thought it would be less prone to disease.

I haven't been treating for anything just keeping an eye out. The trigger has been eating anything and have him eating PE mysis and NLS pellets the angel prefers mysis. I have salinity in both tanks around 1.022 and have hermits, snails and a crab in my DT which they were there before my fish and he hasnt eaten any of them. So my question is I found a raised dot with a black head on the left side of my trigger right behind its fin. Is it something to worry about?

It hasnt moved around and there is only one. I think one of the pics looks like there is another dot further back but is only from the picture and I cant see it on him

roenicknewf
05/09/2013, 09:36 AM
Can't really see anything from the pics ,but prazipro will kill black ich ..Its actually a worm

li_newb
05/09/2013, 09:50 AM
I was thinking that but would i use it as a dip or try and transfer the two fish from tanks. but then isnt the DT now infected with the worms?

and i highlighted where it is.

Deinonych
05/09/2013, 09:33 PM
You can use Prazipro in the DT; it's one of the few "reef safe" treatments. Also, a 46 gal bowfront is WAY too small for a Niger Triggerfish (let alone any trigger). Most triggers need 180 gal minimum.

You should QT all new fish.

MrTuskfish
05/10/2013, 08:24 AM
I can't tell anything from the pic; but , yes, the DT is infected with anything the Niger brought along. BTW, Nigers are very fast growers and this one will outgrow your tank in a just a few months.

li_newb
05/10/2013, 08:58 PM