PDA

View Full Version : 1200 Gallon Tank Build; Design, Planning and Building

jpgross
05/10/2013, 08:02 PM
Hello. My name is John Paul Gross and I am new to reef central but not to operating aquariums. I graduated with a B.S. in Biology in 2008 and have always been interested in keeping fish tanks. My parents had freshwater tanks when I was a kid. I kept my first freshwater tank freshman year in college and have had a tank ever since. My first salt water tank was junior year and lived until I graduated. My first really experimental tank was a 55 gallon with 2-30 gallon sumps that I set up in 2008, my first year of medical school. It's only filtration was about 120 lbs of live rock and a 4-6" deep sand bed in the main tank and one of the sumps (that also had some mangroves). Halfway through my 2nd year of medical school I realized that I didn't want to be a doctor at all. The tank went over 9 months without a water change or feeding, just freshwater top-off, and when I sadly had to break it down in the summer of 2010 and give all my awesome live rock and coral for store credit in Omaha that I would never claim, the water still had perfect levels (even the nitrate didn't register on the test) and every organism was healthy. I drove the tank and sump back to Washington state and finally got them set-up again last July 2012.