PDA

View Full Version : A Choral Coral?

ChoralCoral
05/24/2013, 08:38 AM
Hello RC- I've been enjoying researching my first SW tank. I'm a music teacher in the SF Bay Area, and work for a school that specializes in implementing the latest brain science. We don't have mascot yet, so what would be better than a brain coral named Carl the Choral Coral? :spin1:

My biggest question so far is....What is the affect of sound on corals? Along with singing, we do a lot of folk dance and xylophones. Do you think this could negatively affect the corals?

Tank:
A small plug and play- not really a DIY kinda gal. I'd like it to be small enough that I could take it home over the longer vacations. 6-15g
-Suggestions?
-Which one would require the fewest upgrades?

Stock:
Coral only- the way the polyps work to create one organism is just like a choir. I'd love one of those corals that looks like a brain, but that's not a deal breaker. I'd also like to get some colorful zoas and swishy frogspawn type corals in there.
-What are the lower maintenance corals that I should research?

Maintenance:
-What type of maintenance should I expect with a tank like this? I won't be able to install a RO/DI, so I'm planning on buying the salt water from the LFS.
-Do corals create a lot of bio load like a fish?
-Feeding?
-Water changes?

I appreciate any expertise you can offer. I'm not rushing into anything and I plan on researching extensively before purchasing. I'll also be checking with our facilities manager to make sure electricity/heat stay on over the weekends.

reefshadow
05/25/2013, 11:27 AM
Unless your activities are producing a lot of vibration, sound should have no effect.