PDA

View Full Version : Cured or uncured?

Zante
05/29/2013, 02:10 AM
I am setting up a 150 US gallon reef.

I have everything ready to add the live rock.

My friend at the LFS has suggested getting uncured rock: cheaper, more life but will stink for a while. I need two crates, so the LFS would be able to do a very good price as it is what they call "in and out".

Tempted, mostly due to the "more life" part, but I have no experience of curing, I am pretty much a noob for reef in general.

What do you suggest?

alexander_ktn
05/29/2013, 02:14 AM
When you are setting up a new tank you can use the uncured live rock without a problem.

I only use uncured live rock and have gotten quite a few corals that way as well as other nice hitchhikers like porcelain crabs etc.

You can of course also get some unwanted stuff, but that's the same with cured live rock and usually can be dealt with.

thegrun
05/29/2013, 07:44 AM
+1, there is some risk of getting unwanted hitchhikers but the pluses outweigh the minuses.

NeilFox
05/29/2013, 08:13 AM