PDA

View Full Version : Ph Probe Calibration


bangbangkhan
06/01/2013, 12:11 AM
Hello,

does it matter where the raw data for the Ph probe stabilizes during calibration. my low ph 7 raw data stabilized at 424 and the high ph 10.00 stabilized at 1722.

Cheers.

ReefTron5000
06/01/2013, 12:53 AM
No I don't think it matters where it settles but having said that, those numbers don't sound right. My ph7 stabilized at like 750 and the ph10 at like 1050 or something along those lines.

bangbangkhan
06/01/2013, 12:54 AM
yeah i think i pulled it out of the calibration fluid too quickly...should have waited for at least 10 minutes...

bangbangkhan
06/01/2013, 06:53 PM
i recalibrated it today and the raw data was still around the same levels...i think the different temperature are also causing the discrepancies.

disc1
06/01/2013, 09:00 PM
It doesn't really matter what the numbers settle out to, that's why you're calibrating. But when the slope gets that far off it usually indicates that the probe has given up the ghost.

bangbangkhan
06/01/2013, 09:09 PM
It doesn't really matter what the numbers settle out to, that's why you're calibrating. But when the slope gets that far off it usually indicates that the probe has given up the ghost.

i am using a neptune probe with a DA lite controller. what that make a difference too? after calibrating a dipped it back in the 7 and 10 solution and the readings showed accordingly.

drhyed
06/04/2013, 11:51 AM
I had a issue like that and then retested after letting new packets of the cal fluid sit in the sump for about a hr and my readings were within about 50 of 700 and 1000

bangbangkhan
06/04/2013, 12:15 PM
So the fluid was first brought to the aquarium temperature? After that you took it out opened it and let the probe sit in it for 10 min?