PDA

View Full Version : Cable lenght on probe


Crox99
06/04/2013, 11:51 AM
I just found out that the cable lenght of the Advanced Leak Detection Solid Surface Probe is only 8'. I am setting up my sump in the basement and it will be approximately 20' away from my display tank. I wanted to use 2 probes, one by the sump and the other one inside the stand. Is it possible to replace the cable? Thanks.

slief
06/04/2013, 11:54 AM
You should be able to extend that with a simple phone plug extender assuming the cable is hard wired into the leak detector. If it's just a plug that goes into the detector, you can replace it easily with a longer one.

RussM
06/04/2013, 12:15 PM
You can use a phone line extension cable (male on one end & female on the other end). It must have 4 conductors though - some only have 2.

Crox99
06/05/2013, 12:08 PM
Thank you. I didn't know it's a phone cable.