PDA

View Full Version : 50 Gallon New Tank.

zaitmi
06/11/2013, 03:30 AM
Hello everybody,

I am not a newbie exactly as i have already had 2 tanks i.e. a 30 gallon(fowlr) and 20 gallons with some corals.

I have few queries and i am here for some help.

1) I am making a new 50 gallon reef tank:dance: with size 35L x 18W x 18H.

I like wider tanks not taller so should i go with size 35L x 16W x 18H.

2) The 20 Gallons is still running with 2 clown fishes only but i will be closing it soon shifting all my sands to the new tank.

3) My 20 Gallon tank has red slime algae which i think is for slow water movement. Now i want to wash my sand before shifting. Can i bleach my sand to make it look more whiter.

Shall i do it?

4) What kind of lighting should i use ? I will be using very few and hardy corals later. Right now it will be fowlr like garage1217 tank build.

Cannot use Metal Halide as i cannot afford a chiller.

LED solutions would be better and cheaper but not easily available.

Philips Aqua Coral(20 watt actinic) and 2 ft 20 watt fluorescent tubes are available easily.

5) Aquarium background color ? I use vinyl stickers and paste them in back glass from outside.

Deep blue or black or any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

oscarinw
06/11/2013, 09:15 AM
1) Size is only a matter of preference. Keep in mind larger will allow you more aquascaping options and bigger bio-load
3) You can go either way. Bleaching it for the looks or washing it to keep any beneficial life in it.
4) I'd go LEDs but that's also a preference thing..
5) I'd say deep blue. BTW, I am trying to get my hands on a vinyl sticker myself. Where did you get yours from?

Good luck with things!

peter15
06/11/2013, 09:19 AM
Deep blue, agreed.

Michigan Mike
06/11/2013, 01:22 PM
(LxWxH) why fid you shrink the width after saying you like wider tanks, from 18 to 16?
Why not 36x24x18? That's a great size? Lol