PDA

View Full Version : Help Needed, Diatoms

Mikelush78
06/12/2013, 08:02 AM
Ok I have been battling what looks like Diatoms for about 3 months now. I have had it and need to take action again to try and resolve it, but need some thoughts from the experts.

I went from my 90 - 180 gallon reef 5 months ago. My 90 gallon did not have this issue. It started about 2 - 3 months after I moved to the 180. Its a light brown algae that starts out growing on the sand and as it gets more of a foot hold it moves up and starts affecting corals. My LPS corals wont open up all the way now.

Some things I have done to fix it were, cover the aquarium for 3 days and have no light. When I do that corals come back half to fully out and then about a week I am back to the same issues again. I have found that if I stir the sand once a day it helps a bit since the Diatoms on the sand have to get their foothold again before they bloom faster but that is just delaying the inevitable.

I dont over feed, and I cut back on the lights. I have LED and I downed them to 50% and cut back the time so they are only on for Blue - 9hrs, and white 7hrs.

My water parameters are:
Calcium 420 ppm
Alk 10
Phosphate 0
Nitrate 0 - 5 ppm
PH 8.3
Silicate 0
Magnesium 1410 ppm
Temp 79
Salinity 1.024
TDS after RO-DI is 14 ppm - Think this must be my problem?
TDS Last Month after RO-DI was 12 ppm
TDS of Fresh water before RO-DI - 135 ppm

I changed my filters for my 4 stage RO-DI

I have started to have Coraline growth and my Acropora that I have had for 3 months now has doubled in size. Everything is growing great but LPS corals now... Once the Diatoms get going good int he aquarium I see them start affecting the Monti and other SPS corals...

I chagedmy filters on my 4 stage RO-DI:
RO Membrane was 7 years old, replaced it on 2-17-2013
3 Stage Filters replaced on 11-11-2012