PDA

View Full Version : Cycle help after purchasing used tank?

twelvefive
06/13/2013, 10:26 AM
OK, so I got a really good deal on a 125 gallon tank with stand, sump, lights, everything (except a skimmer) from Craigslist. It came with 50 lbs of live rock (I know it needs more and I will slowly be adding more after this cycle is complete), 1.5 inches of sand, some fish (Goby, firefish, clown, yellow tang, foxface rabbit fish, 2 shrimp, Ritteri nem), and a few corals. I bought it last weekend and we moved it to my house on that Sunday (we drove about a mile with everything).

[also, this is my second tank, I had a 10 gallon salt tank a few years ago, but decided to get out due to financial reason and moving from an apartment to a house. I'm not a total newb.]

So everything was going great for the first week, ammonia was at .25 through Friday, but that was expected after disturbing the sand (in hindsight, I should have replaced the sand, but live and learn and whatnot). I assumed everything was golden until Monday... check ammonia and it's at 8. I frantically water change 35 gallons using RO water and Instant Ocean. Tuesday, ammonia still at 8, change 35 gallons. Wednesday (yesterday), still at 8, change 40 gallons. I checked it last night an hour after the water change and it was still registering ammonia at 8. I'm planning a 65 gallon water change tonight. I've been dosing with Ammo Lock, so I haven't lost anything except a sand sifting star and serpent star (which were promptly removed).

Also, he kept his salinity at .019, I've been steadily raising it and it's at .023 now... I'm aiming for .025 -.026. All of the other paremeters are in the normal range, nitrites and trates are still at 0...

So anyway, on to my question. Is this ammo spike caused by the move? Is there anything else I can do to make this go by faster? I figured these decent sized water changes would have some impact, but so far, nothing...

Any help and/or suggestions?

E Rosewater