PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning a Brute container

91mini
06/15/2013, 10:18 PM
I have been mixing saltwater in a Brute container for about 3 months now for my newly built 100G (first large setup). I have mixed approximately 200 gallon through it and like to have saltwater on hand at all times in case of an emergency. I know that mixing saltwater would create a white powdery residue but didn't realize exactly how much.

Do I need to clean the can, pump and heater on a regular basis or can I just continue to mix saltwater in the can?

If, how and what kind of cleaning schedule do you keep on your mixing stations?

chris s
06/16/2013, 12:44 AM
I clean mine every few months when I do a large water change and empty out my brute. I've found that if I get to it quickly and don't let the residue dry it easy. I use a green scotchbrite pad and wipe down everything. Then a quick rinse and I'm done. My pump gets a vinegar soak every month. I use a mag 7 for mixing and have never needed a heater ;)

You can probably let the can go a little longer but keep up with the pump and heater. If enough builds up it will damage the pump. The build up on the heater insulates it making it less efficent. A soak in vinegar will clean up both.

mfinn
06/16/2013, 09:15 AM
I usually rinse out my mixing barrels with freshwater and wipe it down with a towel, every few months if I notice a build up.

sirreal63
06/16/2013, 12:43 PM
Rinse before use, rinse after use and clean with a scotch brite and vinegar every few months. My can still looks new inside after many years of use.

91mini
06/19/2013, 02:50 PM
Thanks for the advice. I will have to give the pump a vinegar bath. It looks pretty bad after only 1 month of use.

Why does this happen in the mixing barrel and not in our tanks?

sirreal63
06/19/2013, 04:05 PM