PDA

View Full Version : How to move to tanks?

Hbohi
06/22/2013, 10:55 AM
Hey guys.
I am going to be moving within the next 4 months and I have 2 tanks. a 45 gal and a 40 gal fish only set up...Ive never moved houses with the tanks before and not sure how to do it?

Do u put all the live room in a big tub and fish in another and transport like that? and when I set it up again is going to recycle the tank?

Please give me some pointers or suggestions

thanks

H.reidi.MN
06/23/2013, 06:41 PM
Well im no expert but assuming you dont kill off all your bacteria you wont re cycle anything, maybe some small jumps but not a whole cycle. I think for LR people wrap it in wet towels to keep it hydrated and you can put in in buckets for tubs whatever works. Maybe keep some of the water half? Water doesn't hold the bacteria so even if you went will all new water i dont think you would see any drastic effects. Then put your live critters in buckets making sure they have enough water to be in there while you set things up, when you get to your new location im sure throwing some air pumps on the fish buckets will help keep oxygen levels good...

Hope this helps, i just moved a 120 and only kept about 20 gallons of the water and the LR. I have had it going a week since and only seen some nitrate levels rise a bit. Ammonia and nitrite and pH are all great.

Snausy
06/24/2013, 10:50 PM
I moved halfway across the US across the Rocky and Cascade Mountains with my fish in a 50g brute trashcan with a couple PVC elbows and the live rock in another 50g brute trashcan with heaters and pumps in each. Stopped in Wyoming for the night and it dropped to 25. Plugged the heaters/pumps into the cold weather plugs in the parkinglot for the night. I ducktaped an extension cord down the side of the truck because there was no cab access for the ac/dc converter plugged into the lighter.