PDA

View Full Version : done


tphill
07/03/2013, 03:30 PM
I will never shop at Aquacave again.

ReeferBill
07/03/2013, 03:38 PM
Tell us why?

Adamc1303
07/03/2013, 11:12 PM
I feel your pain I won't shop there either! They screwed me once and I ordered again and they screwed me twice! You know what they say, first time shame one them second time shame on me. On my last order I ordered 2 spears 1.5” gate valves. They sell for 35 to 45 everywhere online. They are grey with red handles and work really well. I received a home depot piece of crap gate valve. The white and red ones. That’s called straight up stealing, false advertising & bait and switch. Last time I called them about an issue with my first order they were really rude and unhelpful, I didn't even want waste my breath this time. The only reason I used them is because they and they and premium aquatics (who are hands down the nicest and best people out of all sites) are the closest to me. PA didn't have the valves and my 240g sprung a plumbing leak. Whatever, lesson learned do yourself a favor and shop anywhere else. 70 bucks for 15 bucks of crap that I could have purchased locally. The nerve!

tphill
07/05/2013, 03:48 PM
We deserve and respect good customer service now a days. I've received good customer service from other places, I've read on these forums about good customer service, such as replacement parts and items being replaced, free of charge when bad. I was offered a phone number!! A phone number to call someone else. I didn't buy the item from that someone else. If that's the best Aquacave can do, I will buy from someone else from now on.

James77
07/06/2013, 06:42 PM
We deserve and respect good customer service now a days. I've received good customer service from other places, I've read on these forums about good customer service, such as replacement parts and items being replaced, free of charge when bad. I was offered a phone number!! A phone number to call someone else. I didn't buy the item from that someone else. If that's the best Aquacave can do, I will buy from someone else from now on.

Could you provide a little bit more info on exactly what happened?

AquaCave is a retailer, and a retailer can only provide so much support for a product before having to refer you to the manufacturer for warranty support. Some retailers give you a months worth of support, others none....but the manufacturer is the one that made the product, and they are the ones that can repair it.

James77
07/06/2013, 06:45 PM
I feel your pain I won't shop there either! They screwed me once and I ordered again and they screwed me twice! You know what they say, first time shame one them second time shame on me. On my last order I ordered 2 spears 1.5” gate valves. They sell for 35 to 45 everywhere online. They are grey with red handles and work really well. I received a home depot piece of crap gate valve. The white and red ones. That’s called straight up stealing, false advertising & bait and switch. Last time I called them about an issue with my first order they were really rude and unhelpful, I didn't even want waste my breath this time. The only reason I used them is because they and they and premium aquatics (who are hands down the nicest and best people out of all sites) are the closest to me. PA didn't have the valves and my 240g sprung a plumbing leak. Whatever, lesson learned do yourself a favor and shop anywhere else. 70 bucks for 15 bucks of crap that I could have purchased locally. The nerve!

Were they actually listed as Spears Gate Valves? Because I cannot find any listed on their site right now.....

tphill
07/07/2013, 12:48 PM
Could you provide a little bit more info on exactly what happened?

Retailer's that want to keep a customer's business will take care of that customer.

James77
07/07/2013, 03:43 PM
Retailer's that want to keep a customer's business will take care of that customer.

They cannot always do that, sometimes warranty has to go directly through the manufacturer.

It is very common practice for a retailer to offer a small period of warranty directly with them, but then require direct dealing with the manufacturer. Some manufacturers like Tunze, EcoTech, Neptune, Digital Aquatics, etc require the retailer to have all warranties sent directly to them.

It would give a better picture if you described exactly what happened. What do you feel went wrong?

Adamc1303
07/07/2013, 06:21 PM
The reason I never started a thread with a complaint towards a retailer on RC is because there's always someone to come to the retailer's rescue just for pure brown nosing.... Look at every complaint there always someone that wants to save them and make them look like saints. Come on they have to do what's right. And yes it was listed as spears when I ordered I don't know why it's off now or do I?

James77
07/07/2013, 06:27 PM
:rolleyes:

I have been on and off with AquaCave for years, and there have definitely been legitimate complaints against them. But saying they did something wrong by referring a customer to a manufacturer for warranty repair, when it is very likely that AquaCave HAS to do that, is plain silly. But the OP could elaborate some on what went wrong. Call that brown nosing on my part if you must :thumbsup:

tphill
07/07/2013, 07:55 PM
I will not 'elaborate'. However, I will say this. The item in question was not by a manufacturer mentioned above, but has been mentioned on other sites where retailers have replaced the item to the customer, and probably by doing so have a loyal customer. Aquacave decided to give me a phone number, thereby losing me as a customer.

Mentioned above was Tunze as a manufacturer requiring retailers to send all warranties directly to them. I witnessed my LFS exchanging a Tunze Osmolator for a customer last weekend. Retailers can take care of their customers if they choose to!

Adamc1303, there does always seem to be someone supporting poor customer service. Those someones are probably also retailers giving poor customer service.


This is my last response on this subject.

James77
07/07/2013, 08:05 PM
Sorry...but without knowing the details, it is not going to mean much. Why can you not elaborate on it? You say AquaCave gave you a phone number....for what???? It could range from them referring you legitimately to a manufacturer to them blowing you off and horrible customer service...but you will not let us know more details. Why not?

I am not supporting poor customer service, and I never will. Your responses towards me asking you to simply elaborate are typical of what end up being irrational complaints. I am not saying yours is, but you are not letting us know simple details. I have avoided many companies based solely on poor reviews. I just have zero idea of the details of your experience with AquaCave so I (or anyone else reading this thread)cannot come to a conclusion on if there was actually poor service. Right now I lean towards no....and I am not a huge fan of AquaCave. I have not ordered from them for big chunks of time based on poor reviews in the past. Right now, they are on my "OK" list, but it is always subject to change based on legitimate negative reviews.

But silly me...asking questions when you stated that you will no longer comment on the thread :crazy1:

goofyreefer
07/09/2013, 08:07 PM
What's the point to this thread if you don't tell anyone what the problem is? That knowledge may help others from making the same mistake.

jimmyj7090
07/17/2013, 11:35 AM
I will not 'elaborate'. However, I will say this. The item in question was not by a manufacturer mentioned above, but has been mentioned on other sites where retailers have replaced the item to the customer, and probably by doing so have a loyal customer. Aquacave decided to give me a phone number, thereby losing me as a customer.

Mentioned above was Tunze as a manufacturer requiring retailers to send all warranties directly to them. I witnessed my LFS exchanging a Tunze Osmolator for a customer last weekend. Retailers can take care of their customers if they choose to!

Adamc1303, there does always seem to be someone supporting poor customer service. Those someones are probably also retailers giving poor customer service.


This is my last response on this subject.

Your refusal to elaborate at all completely undermines any legitimate complaint you may have. This thread just makes you look silly and irrational.

Adamc1303
07/18/2013, 10:06 PM
Amazing how Aquacave has't chimed in or cared....

chrisv
07/31/2013, 11:23 PM
Amazing how Aquacave has't chimed in or cared....

Typical, really.

I too have had bad experiences with these guys. Buyers beware.

James77
08/02/2013, 08:26 PM
Typical, really.

I too have had bad experiences with these guys. Buyers beware.

You have been posting negative feedback on them for over 2 years, yet I don't see your horror story that you said you would post. I am not trying to call you out, and I already know that I will be accused of supporting or working for AquaCave because of this question....

But what went on with you and AquaCave?

DogueDeBordeaux
08/03/2013, 07:30 PM
I had a galaxy ballast go out. I could not find my receipt. I emailed a few places I had ordered from in the past. AquaCave, had my receipt on file, and emailed it to me. Then, they handled communication with supplier to get by ballast replaced fast. My experience has been great with AquaCave.

FuzzyZipperbaum
08/17/2013, 07:23 PM
Well if everyone wants a story...here is mine.

I ordered 2k worth of stuff from them including a $1300 skimmer from Skimz (302)... I emailed to tell them one of the pumps did not work and that I would be happy to take it apart and take a look at it before they sent me a new one but I wanted to make sure it did not void the warranty. I also told them that 2 of the pumps were leaking badly but we would worry about that after the pump. I got the ONLY response back that it was fine to open the pump. Well I fixed it....so I sent an email letting them know they didn't have to send me another Sicca pump but I needed info on how to handle the two pumps that were badly leaking at the base....

I have now emailed 4 times and called once with ZERO response. I can not run the skimmer because one of the leaks is so bad it squirts across the room. I also CCed Skimz on my last email....haven't heard from there either. I ordered this on June 4th....it is now 2+ months.

This is customer service at its worse and Aqua Cave should be ashamed of themselves. Customers can make their own decisions to order from AC...but I still have literally thousands of dollars in new equipment needs and not a penny will to go AC.

James77
08/18/2013, 06:38 PM
Well that sucks. I would try calling some more.....I would try right when they open, during the middle of the day, and at the end. They really seem to be on or off with communication. I have had emails inquiring about stuff go totally with no reply, and others replied to in minutes.

JoshuaG
08/21/2013, 08:13 AM
Not a big deal but a small complaint with Aquacave. Ordered a DC pump from them on the 13th that was showing in stock, they called the next day to tell me it wasn't really in stock but they would have them this week. Called today to check, they won't be getting them in until next week and not to me until September at the earliest.

Not acceptable.

erndog1001
08/23/2013, 03:20 PM
Not a big deal but a small complaint with Aquacave. Ordered a DC pump from them on the 13th that was showing in stock, they called the next day to tell me it wasn't really in stock but they would have them this week. Called today to check, they won't be getting them in until next week and not to me until September at the earliest.

Not acceptable.

I had sort of a similar experience with them. I ordered 2 Kessil LED lights from them which were listed as "in stock" Only to find out after i placed my order that they were if fact shipping from the manufacturer. I wasn't happy.

cubiclewarrior
08/26/2013, 05:01 AM
The reason I buy from a online retailer is to save money and AquaCave has some great prices. As far as representing the cheap products they carry... I would be expecting that kind of service from a local fish store but not as much from a online retailers/etailers.

Aqua-cave offers quite a few products that are from overseas and I wouldn't expect the quality to be very high on those items or the replacement parts to have GREAT availability... Skimz is out of Singapore lol what were you expecting lol

http://www.skimz.sg/


The skimmer was probably made by a ankle biting child laborer in a make shift sweat shop.... I doubt if the company SKIMZ is more than a 12x20 floor in this building in their industrial park. Then the items get thrown around at the loading docks on both ends and left in shipping containers in the hot sun "the best thing for acrylic LOL" .. It amazes me that the items are even intact by the time they get to the USA.

https://maps.google.com/maps?q=Skimz+Singapore+LLP+5+Ang+Mo+Kio+Industrial+Park+2A+04-30+AMK+Tech+II+Singapore+567760&safe=active&ie=UTF-8&ei=ajkbUqfgFuPu2gXz9YDwDg&ved=0CAoQ_AUoAg


I suppose the real question here is should we be mad at Aquacave for importing that junk from Singapore...

LOL on SKIMZ website it says: filtration systems coming soon... I bet they are waiting until middle school lets our for next summer to get that lineup going....

cubiclewarrior
08/26/2013, 06:15 AM
Here is a recent photo from inside SKIMZ where they are ramping up production/assembly on their new LIGHTING LINEUP!


http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-wXsHpC_gFV8/UQJh59B7O-I/AAAAAAAAJqs/5OP0au-h_UQ/s1600/12-Foxconn.jpg

TheReefKeeper
08/26/2013, 07:45 AM
When you see low prices it usually means it's shipping from the MFG how is a company supposed to pay for shipping to their door and sell it again and compete with others online?

If you want to deal with an OEM buy from an OEM and pay more.

Not sure how people think any online retail company is responsible for a MFG quality, shipping times or service? Seems everyone has to complain after they saved 10.00-100.00 on a product. You want Quality and service buy USA!!! or watch a company online and see how they interact with customers day to day. Royal Exclusive is very active hence you get what you pay for and not just with quality of build materials you get service.

I have never bought anything from AC or even talked to them but if I want to save a few bucks I know they are their so no motives behind this post. I own a website and deal with customers daily and this is what I tell them I am very upfront and let them know how I save them money by not stocking products no secret. I'm actually surprised AC has not jumped in to defend themselves another lesson learned for all the onlookers as to just what I was saying up top about companies interactions with customers day to day.

chrisv
08/26/2013, 08:23 AM
With regard to the comments about an online vender providing substandard quality of service compared to a LFS, all that I can say is that you simply must try some of the other online venders. Premium Aquatics or Marine Depot will sit on the phone and chat with you as long as you like about the products you're interested in and have wonderful and flexible return policies. Luckily, they also price match. Sometimes AC has thebest price on a common item, so I do ask them to match the AC price. They are happy to do it.

It's fine for a company to ship orders directly from the company that makes the product! What's not fine is for the company to claim that the product is "in stock". If the website said "ships directly from manufacturer" this would be okay. What I found offensive was the practice of billing for an item which is "in stock" and then not notifying the customer that a significant portion of the order will not be shipped with the rest of the order and will in fact be delayed for a long period while it is shipped from southeast asia.

cubiclewarrior
08/26/2013, 08:53 AM
When you see low prices it usually means it's shipping from the MFG how is a company supposed to pay for shipping to their door and sell it again and compete with others online?

If you want to deal with an OEM buy from an OEM and pay more.

Not sure how people think any online retail company is responsible for a MFG quality, shipping times or service? Seems everyone has to complain after they saved 10.00-100.00 on a product. You want Quality and service buy USA!!! or watch a company online and see how they interact with customers day to day. Royal Exclusive is very active hence you get what you pay for and not just with quality of build materials you get service.

I have never bought anything from AC or even talked to them but if I want to save a few bucks I know they are their so no motives behind this post. I own a website and deal with customers daily and this is what I tell them I am very upfront and let them know how I save them money by not stocking products no secret. I'm actually surprised AC has not jumped in to defend themselves another lesson learned for all the onlookers as to just what I was saying up top about companies interactions with customers day to day.

x2

TheReefKeeper
08/26/2013, 09:05 AM
It's fine for a company to ship orders directly from the company that makes the product! What's not fine is for the company to claim that the product is "in stock". If the website said "ships directly from manufacturer" this would be okay. What I found offensive was the practice of billing for an item which is "in stock" and then not notifying the customer that a significant portion of the order will not be shipped with the rest of the order and will in fact be delayed for a long period while it is shipped from southeast asia.

For the most part I agree with you but again it's all about distributer/Vendor communication/Relationship if it is not communicated that a overseas company can not ship in its normal 2-3 days turn around because of MFG issues or delays for who knows what reasons then the distributers look bad.

May be we should be looking at the Vendor for poor communication with their retailers and not keeping them informed. The store should contact you and give a refund option as soon as they find out their is more than normal delay this is my policy with all my customers and I also let them know that I am not holding their money if they want it back they can take it an time they are not my hostage. This is the only poor job I see of the (retailers not informing of an over expected delay and offering refunds).

Seems meek to :deadhorse:and I'm sure I'm 95% correct with all of the assumptions I have made since I mfg. overseas and do the whole container thing with our products. In no way do I not understand what you are saying but I also know the retailers side too and like to inform buyers so they are not clueless. Sometimes it's out of retailers control trust me but their are ways of making customers happy even with delays.

chrisv
08/26/2013, 09:09 AM
The store should contact you and give a refund option as soon as they find out their is more than normal delay this is my policy with all my customers and I also let them know that I am not holding their money if they want it back they can take it an time they are not my hostage. This is the only poor job I see of the (retailers not informing of an over expected delay and offering refunds).



And what you describe sounds like an honest business practice. I'm sure your customers appreciate the upfront honesty.

AquaCave
09/16/2013, 04:10 PM
Hello Reef Central Family,

First and foremost, I would like to introduce myself. My name is Amanda and I am the Director of Marketing at AquaCave. I will be monitoring the forums from now on, checking them on a regular basis. I would like to apologize for the delay in response as we have been transitioning and thank you for your understanding.

The negativity that seems to be present is saddening and I hope that we all can all work together and go from here to make AquaCave everything that you want and more. Your opinions that have been expressed are not ignored and have been passed on to the owner. You have a voice and we want to hear it!

If you have any questions please feel free to post a forum topic or private message and I will respond to you within 2 business days (even if it's to say that I need more time LOL). Have a great day!

Sincerely, Amanda :fish2: