PDA

View Full Version : The API Nitrate Conundrum

ReeferMark
07/15/2013, 08:01 PM
I've been battling a nitrate problem with my 90G tank for the last two months now. My Elos Nitrate tester showed my water was well over 25ppm. I went out and got an API Nitrate test kit, just to know where I was. For weeks, I kept testing the water a couple of days after doing my weekly water change. At first, the nitrates dropped all the way down to 10ppm...on the API & Elos testers. The last four weeks, I measured the nitrates constantly going up with the API tester and decided not to use the Elos because it only tests up to 25ppm.

Tonight, I was shocked to see the API tester showing nitrates at about 80ppm! I tried the Elos tester and it showed nitrates at 2.5ppm!! I then grabbed another vial and tested the API....same results...80ppm! The API tester was bought three months ago and has an expiration date of 2017! Has anyone seen problems with the API testers after using it for a while? See the attached pictures and you'll see the differences.

evolutionZ
07/15/2013, 08:23 PM
i used to have 2 API Nitrate test kit, one was showing 10ppm while the other was 40ppm. both were tested at the same time. I threw them (and all other API test kit away) and went full Salifert. never looked back before.

ReeferMark
07/15/2013, 08:29 PM
EvolutionZ: I here ya...you get what you pay for. I was just looking for something cheap to test nitrates over 25ppm. It's weird though, it's like the API went stale on me over the last few weeks!

Jamey1010
07/15/2013, 08:33 PM
I had been using a API for nitrates and was concerned too, although getting readings close to 0 defiantly less than 5, I just picked up salifert to double check cause we all know the reputation but was pleasantly surprised to see the same reading on salifert about 2.5

I think it has to do with shaking the #2 bottle good so it's mixed well and maybe if it sits too long it doesn't readily go back to a through solution

ReeferMark