PDA

View Full Version : Coral Poisoning - My Story

firerunner
07/22/2013, 08:12 AM
I want to preface this by giving a little history. I am 47, with a 51 year old husband and two kids. We are self employed with a shop attached to our home. Our son and one other works for us.

I have a Master's degree in finance and 14 years ago, I was told I have MS (multiple sclerosis) so I also work out of the home, doing all the office end of the business.

I have been in fish all my life. I can remember my first fresh water tank when I lived at home with mom and dad. I currently have a 5000 gallon fully enclosed koi pond, a 500 gallon fully enclosed turtle pond and a 200 gallon reef tank

and this is my story..

My 200 gallon reef tank has been up and running for about 4 years, (before that it was a 55 gallon reef tank for about 4 years so about 8 years in the reef tank field) It has protein skimmer, wave maker, sump, refugium, phosphate reactor, and it has seen me go form T5's to Metal Halides to LEDS and I am no back to my T5's. (I have metal halidews and LEDS packed away in the attic LOL).

There is one corner of my tank that for whatever reason is a dead spot. I have 4 power heads in my tank all on the wave maker, but this corner..is my hell corner. And I always struggle with algae in this corner. It ALWAYS starts there and if I don't stay on it, would over take the tank.

So Friday I decided to do a little cleaning and aqua-scaping of my tank.

I started by pulling the first rock out of my hell corner. Had on my gloves and a bucket of salt water for cleaning, as well as my trusty old toothbrush.

I say down and commenced to clean.

When our son came in and said

"mom why not use the air hose to clean them off, it will blow that algae right off the rocks."

and I said..hey not a bad idea...

SO out to the shop we went...