PDA

View Full Version : DIY 2 g sump build

Shaker nemo
07/26/2013, 02:00 AM
I plan on making a 2 gallon sump for my 10 gallon soon to be reef. i will be using a ssmall 2g tank and i have to fix in the divisions. How a many should ther be?I dont think i will use an overflow cuz it uses alot of spac in my alredy cluttered tank...
So can i just use a valve? And what is a bubble trap? idont unerstand what it does :( i plan on keeping some filter media a protein skimmer and a fan to cool down the tank. In what order should it be placed? where should the bubble trap be? lots of questions i know, im a newbie to reef tanks :hmm5: THANK YOU IN ADVANCE :lolspin:

shifty51008
08/01/2013, 06:44 AM
to be honest, a 2 gal sump is gonna be to small to really do much other than hold some extra water. you will need an overflow if you plan on having a sump, a valve just won't work. so by the time you do have a way to get water from the DT to the sump you will need a return pump to pump the water back up, if it is a submersiable pump then that will take up pretty much the room in the sump.

you may be stuck with HOB equipment. but on a 10 gal tank there is really no reason to have a skimmer, just do regular 20% water changes weekly or every 2 weeks. if you want to run carbon and or gfo you can find either a cheap HOB filter or canister filter, just clean them out every couple of weeks so they don't start producing nitrates.

Dapg8gt
08/01/2013, 07:04 AM
Me personally would just type in Diy sump in the search tab at the top of the page . Or bubble trap, or.......(enter other common search fields here) =).

smartwater101
08/01/2013, 03:44 PM
I agree with shifty, go bigger if you can. Heck, make your 10g the sump and get 20g DT?

Shaker nemo
08/05/2013, 09:37 AM