PDA

View Full Version : Setting up QT tank

Kennyleary93
07/27/2013, 05:00 PM
I read the guide on how to properly set up a QT tank but I had some questions. This tank is going to be in the kitchen since it is the only room I have. It is a 10 gallon tank and with the placement of this tank would still like it to look nice instead of a bare tank with nothing it but a filter.

Do you have any recommendations on how I can accomplish this? Can I possibly still put some sort of life in it?

hossa81
07/27/2013, 05:06 PM
You could arrange a pvc course. If your other tank have corraline, take a piece of rock with corraline on it and let it spread onto the pvc and the rest of the tank.

Kennyleary93
07/27/2013, 06:31 PM
That might work. Any other ideas?

Kennyleary93
07/27/2013, 06:41 PM
Also, I have a Tetra EX35 laying around from when I had a freshwater tank, could that be used for my QT tank or are those strictly freshwater filters.

I feel this is a total noob question and im almost positive I can't use this filter. But I figured it wouldn't hurt to ask.

Denbf58
07/28/2013, 06:49 AM
i use pcv pipe fittings and i take a piece of live rock from my sump and add it to the qt (remove rock if you have to medicate) you can also put a back ground on the tank to make look nice. it only has to be set up for a few months while you stock your dt

Denbf58
07/28/2013, 06:50 AM
also check this out http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2195588

Kennyleary93
07/28/2013, 01:51 PM
also check this out http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2195588

I have already read that, thanks though! I just has some other questions that were more specific. I might do what you said about putting some rock in there along with the pvc and the background. Thanks!

Is it a bad idea to have some hermits in there as it cycles? I have two that have their shells covered in purple coralline, more so than my rocks.

bnumair
07/28/2013, 02:08 PM